Beacon Health Options授予$128,800赠款,以解决波士顿和洛厄尔的阿片类药物危机

资金将用于使社区行为健康组织受益

波士顿– 2019年9月4日 –根据马萨诸塞州公共卫生部的数据,仅在2019年的前六个月中,英联邦就有611例确诊的阿片类药物相关的药物过量死亡-每天超过三例。

为了帮助解决这一持续危机,总部位于波士顿的领先行为健康服务公司Beacon Health Options(Beacon)今天宣布,它将向四个基于社区的行为健康组织分发$128,800的赠款。赠款资金将帮助获奖者增加其客户与药物辅助治疗(MAT)的联系,这是一种基于证据的阿片类药物使用障碍(OUD)治疗方法。

四个受赠者-波士顿无家可归者医疗保健计划,Bournewood卫生系统,洛厄尔之家和North Suffolk心理健康中心-经过竞争性程序甄选后,试图为有助于改善通向MAT的途径和参与MAT的方案提供资金。 “在阻止马萨诸塞州与阿片类药物相关的过量用药的集体斗争中取得了长足进步,但还有更多工作要做,”灯塔基地东北地区总裁苏珊·科克利说。 “我们知道药物辅助治疗可有效治疗阿片类药物使用障碍,而且我们也知道许多客户在获取阿片类药物方面遇到障碍。我们通过该赠款计划的目标是帮助提供者改善服务,并创造可持续的方式将客户与MAT联系-将他们与救生治疗联系起来。”

获奖项目性质多样,包括:

  • 在流动成瘾诊所实施远程行为保健(波士顿无家可归者医疗保健计划)
  • 开发门诊MAT程序,包括使用智能电话技术(Bournewood Health Systems)
  • 利用Uber Health缓解访问MAT(Lowell House)的交通障碍
  • 采用创新的软件技术,以提高对MAT治疗计划的参与度和持续遵守率(North Suffolk心理健康)

资金到位时间为一年,根据计划结果,可能会持续第二年。

“我们很高兴能与这四个杰出组织合作,”信标公司东北区首席合伙人Briana Duffy说。 “扩大MAT的访问权限是Beacon的当务之急,我们期待与我们的提供商合作伙伴合作,以帮助我们的会员获得治疗阿片类药物使用障碍所需的服务,并继续生活。”

关于信标健康选项

Beacon Health Options是一家领先的行为健康服务公司,为全美50个州的4000万个人提供服务。我们与雇主,健康计划和政府机构合作,通过创新的计划和解决方案提供强大的精神健康和成瘾服务,以改善人们的日常健康状况。信标公司是精神和情感健康,成瘾,康复和员工健康领域的全国领导者。我们与全国各地社区的提供者网络合作,帮助个人最大程度地发挥自己的生活。有关更多信息,请访问 www.beaconhealthoptions.com并与我们联系 www.facebook.com/beaconhealthoptions, www.twitter.com/beaconhealthoptwww.linkedin.com/company/beacon-health-options.

###

信标健康选择阿片类药物使用障碍补助计划
受赠者摘要

BHCHP Logo

波士顿无家可归者医疗保健计划

自1985年以来,波士顿无家可归者医疗保健计划(BHCHP)的任务一直是为大波士顿地区所有无家可归的个人和家庭提供或确保获得最高质量的医疗保健。无家可归者对健康的负面影响是深远的:无家可归者和居住不稳定的人吸毒过量死亡的比率是普通人群的20倍。 Beacon Health Options的支持使BHCHP可以采取新的干预措施,从而增加针对阿片类药物使用障碍(MOUD)的综合药物和为特别脆弱的人群提供行为健康服务的途径:那些遭受无家可归和更高风险的健康威胁的人过量。该创新项目将通过采用远程医疗方式引入新的认知行为疗法并将综合服务带给无家可归者,从而增强卡夫社区卫生保健中心的CareZONE移动诊所(目前由BHCHP作为医疗提供者)上提供的减少伤害和MOUD服务。否则他们将难以获得治疗服务。 Beacon的赠款将支持技术和培训费用,以将获得许可的临床社会工作者的远程服务与CareZONE团队提供的医疗和减害服务相结合,以针对大波士顿地区的阿片类药物过量“热点”。

Bournewood Health Systems Logo

伯恩伍德卫生系统

自1884年以来,Bournewood卫生系统(BHS)一直向患有严重精神健康状况的人,患有严重情绪障碍的青少年以及同时出现精神健康和物质使用状况的人提供行为健康治疗。在Beacon的赠款资助下,BHS将开发门诊药物辅助治疗(MAT)计划,以补充其当前的门诊双重诊断部分住院计划(PHP)。 BHS MAT计划将包括几个下午的诊所会议,在此期间,患者将接受由董事会认证的成瘾精神病医生的个别药物管理访问。这些服务将帮助患者在部分住院计划期间从MAT无缝过渡到通过新诊所进行的访问。该诊所最初将用作从BHS或周边设施的住院或PHP计划中出院的患者的过渡诊所,并将扩大范围,以包括附近社区的个人。 BHS还将结合使用Hazelden Betty Ford COR-12™模型,并为患者提供COR-12™智能手机应用程序,这将提高MAT的依从性,并增强患者对MAT益处和风险的认识。

LHATR Logo

Lowell House,Inc.

洛厄尔之家公司(Lowell House,Inc.)通过提供技巧和自由,使人们及其家人能够过上清醒而有尊严的生活,从而重塑自己的生活,并增强社区。洛厄尔之家的服务包括门诊诊所,康复指导,支持性案例管理,结构化的门诊成瘾计划(SOAP),住宅康复之家,清醒之家,驾驶员酒后教育计划,以及为有风险的人群提供的社区服务清单不断扩大物质使用障碍,或在生活中处于任何水平的成瘾斗争中的人。 Beacon的资金将用于支持Lowell House使用Uber Health运输服务,以确保其客户能够完全使用MAT。根据美国医院协会的说法,交通障碍是导致全国各地错过医疗预约的主要原因-Lowell House每天都会与努力获得所需护理的客户一起看到这种现象。可以预料,在Lowell House中使用Uber Health可以确保在其住宿或日间计划中的任何客户都不必错过与MAT相关的约会-无论是摄入,持续给药还是随访。通过运输援助增加和简化MAT的访问将导致更高的依从率和更好的结果。

NSMHA Logo

北萨福克精神健康 北萨福克精神健康协会有限公司(NSMHA)六十多年来一直为波士顿北萨福克地区的个人和家庭提供基于社区的心理健康服务。 NSMHA已开发出一套综合的治疗,康复和支持计划系统,以促进患有精神疾病和/或药物滥用疾病的所有年龄段人群的康复。解决阿片类药物流行是NSMHA的战略重点,因为它正在过渡到基于价值的护理系统。 Beacon的资金将用于支持NSMHA的MAT计划采用阿片类药物成瘾恢复支持(OARS)解决方案。 OARS是一项创新的以患者为中心的软件技术,旨在增加对MAT的访问和持续参与,同时促进患者与医疗团队之间的护理协调。

Beacon Health Options awards $128,800 in grants to address opioid crisis in Boston and Lowell

Funding will be used to benefit community-based behavioral health organizations

Boston – September 4, 2019 – According to the Massachusetts Department of Public Health, in the first six months of 2019 alone, there were 611 confirmed opioid-related overdose deaths in the Commonwealth – more than three per day.

To help address this ongoing crisis, Beacon Health Options (Beacon), a leading behavioral health services company headquartered in Boston, announced today it will be distributing $128,800 in grants to four community-based behavioral health organizations. Grant funding will help the awardees increase their clients’ connectivity to medication-assisted treatment (MAT), an evidence-based approach to treating opioid use disorder (OUD).

The four grantees – Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program, Bournewood Health Systems, Lowell House, and North Suffolk Mental Health – were selected after a competitive process that sought to fund programs that help improve pathways to, and engagement in, MAT. “While strides have been made in our collective struggle to stem the tide of opioid-related overdoses in Massachusetts, there is more work to be done,” said Susan Coakley, President of Beacon’s Northeast Region. “We know that medication-assisted treatment works to treat opioid use disorder, and we also know that many clients experience barriers to accessing it. Our goal with this grant program is to help providers improve services and create sustainable ways to connect clients to MAT – linking them to life-saving treatment.”

The awarded projects are diverse in nature and include:

  • Implementing tele-behavioral health on a mobile addiction clinic (Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program)
  • Developing an outpatient MAT program, including the use of smart phone technology (Bournewood Health Systems)
  • Utilizing Uber Health to mitigate transportation barriers to accessing MAT (Lowell House)
  • Adopting innovative software technology to increase engagement and ongoing adherence rates to MAT treatment plans (North Suffolk Mental Health)

Funding is in place for one year, with the potential to continue for a second year depending on program outcomes.

“We are thrilled to partner with these four outstanding organizations,” said Briana Duffy, Beacon’s Northeast Region Chief Partnership Officer. “Expanding access to MAT is a high priority for Beacon, and we look forward to working with our provider partners to help our members get the services they need to treat their opioid use disorder and move forward in their lives.”

About Beacon Health Options

Beacon Health Options is a leading behavioral health services company that serves 40 million individuals across all 50 states. We work with employers, health plans and government agencies to provide robust mental health and addiction services through innovative programs and solutions that improve the health and wellness of people every day. Beacon is a national leader in the fields of mental and emotional wellbeing, addiction, recovery, and employee health. Collaborating with a network of providers in communities around the country, we help individuals live their lives to the fullest potential. For more information, visit www.beaconhealthoptions.comand connect with us on www.facebook.com/beaconhealthoptions, www.twitter.com/beaconhealthopt and www.linkedin.com/company/beacon-health-options.

###

Beacon Health Options Opioid Use Disorder Grant Program
Grantee Summary

BHCHP Logo

Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program

Since 1985, the mission of Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program (BHCHP) has been to provide or assure access to the highest quality health care for all homeless individuals and families in the greater Boston area. The negative health impacts of homelessness are profound: individuals who are homeless and unstably housed have rates of drug overdose death that are 20 times higher than those in the general population. The support of Beacon Health Options is allowing BHCHP to undertake a new intervention that will increase pathways to integrated medication for opioid use disorder (MOUD) and behavioral health services for exceptionally vulnerable people: those who are experiencing the health threats of homelessness and a heightened risk of overdose. This innovative project will enhance the harm reduction and MOUD services that are currently provided on the Kraft Center for Community Health’s CareZONE mobile clinic, on which BHCHP is the medical provider, by introducing new cognitive behavioral therapy using telehealth modalities and bringing integrated services to homeless individuals who would otherwise struggle to access treatment services. The grant from Beacon will support the cost of technology and training to integrate the remote services of a licensed clinical social worker to the medical and harm reduction services provided by the CareZONE team to target opioid overdose “hotspots” in greater Boston.

Bournewood Health Systems Logo

Bournewood Health Systems

Bournewood Health Systems (BHS) has continuously provided behavioral health treatment since 1884 to persons with severe mental health conditions, adolescents with severe emotional disturbances, and persons with co-occurring mental health and substance use conditions. With grant funding from Beacon, BHS will develop an outpatient medication-assisted treatment (MAT) program to complement its current ambulatory dual diagnosis partial hospitalization program (PHP). The BHS MAT program will consist of several afternoon clinic sessions, during which time patients will have individual medication management visits with a board certified addiction psychiatrist. These services will help patients seamlessly transition from MAT during their partial hospitalization program into ongoing access through the new clinic. The clinic will initially serve as a bridge clinic for patients being discharged from the inpatient or PHP programs at BHS or surrounding facilities, and will be expanded to include access for individuals in nearby communities. BHS will also incorporate the use of the Hazelden Betty Ford COR-12™ Model and offer patients the COR-12™ smartphone app, which will promote strong MAT adherence rates and provide enhanced patient education around MAT benefits and risks.

LHATR Logo

Lowell House, Inc.

Lowell House, Inc. empowers people and their families to rebuild their lives and strengthen their communities by providing the skills and freedom to live a sober and dignified life. Lowell House services include an outpatient clinic, recovery coaching, supportive case management, a structured outpatient addiction Program (SOAP), residential recovery homes, sober homes, driver alcohol education programs, and an ever-expanding list of community services for those at risk for substance use disorder, or who are struggling with addiction at any level in their lives. Funding from Beacon will be utilized to support Lowell House’s use of Uber Health transportation services to ensure full access to MAT for its clients. According to the American Hospital Association, transportation barriers are a leading cause for missed medical appointments throughout the country – a phenomenon that Lowell House sees every day with its clients who struggle to access needed care. It is anticipated that the use of Uber Health at Lowell House will ensure that no client in its residential or day programs will have to miss an MAT-related appointment – whether it be for intake, ongoing dosing, or follow-up. Increased and streamlined access to MAT through transportation assistance will result in higher adherence rates and improved outcomes.

NSMHA Logo

North Suffolk Mental Health North Suffolk Mental Health Association, Inc. (NSMHA) has been providing community-based mental health services to individuals and families in the Boston North Suffolk area for over sixty years. NSMHA has developed an integrated system of treatment, rehabilitation, and support programs to promote the recovery of people of all ages living with mental illness and/or substance use disorders. Addressing the opioid epidemic is a strategic priority for NSMHA as it transitions towards a value-based care system. Funding from Beacon will go toward supporting the adoption of the Opioid Addiction Recovery Support (OARS) solution into NSMHA’s MAT program. OARS is an innovative patient-centered software technology aiming at increasing access and ongoing engagement to MAT, while facilitating care coordination between the patient and the healthcare team.