灯塔健康选择首映短片 麦可 纪念世界自闭症月

波士顿,2018年4月25日 –为纪念世界自闭症月,美国首屈一指的行为健康管理公司信标健康选择(Beacon)自豪地分享了自己的短片, 麦可. 影片提供了一个自闭症谱系障碍(ASD)和其他心理健康状况的13岁男孩的生活的窗口,该男孩受益于康涅狄格州行为健康合作组织(CT BHP)管理的服务。与迈克尔的提供者合作,他的母亲不懈地努力使迈克尔过上正常的生活,同时应对自己的心理健康状况带来的挑战。

麦可 是较长纪录片的一部分, 恢复生命, 这跟随着三个人的行为健康状况。该纪录片于2018年6月2日在今年的纽黑文纪录片电影节和新泽西恢复电影节上放映。

疾病控制与预防中心估计,美国68名儿童中有1名患有自闭症,比2000年增加了119%。

“迈克尔很聪明。他很聪明。他很滑稽。他确实可以做得非常好。”迈克尔的母亲谢丽尔(Cheryl)说。 “他可以做奇妙的事情,我只想给他这个机会。我希望他过正常的生活。”

为了帮助实现这一目标,Michael设有一名Beacon护理协调员,将他与所需的护理联系起来。此外,他还有一位同行专家,可以教育母亲并将其与社区中可用的工具和资源联系起来。

“我们为在康涅狄格州和整个公司拥有强大的同行专家计划感到自豪。 Beacon的所有同行和我们大多数护理协调员都具有自闭症谱系障碍的经验,” Beacon自闭症服务部健康选择总监Jennifer Krom说。研究和我们自己的经验表明,同行专家对其所服务的成员具有变革性的影响。它们不仅可以提高ASD患者的生活质量,还可以提高他们对服务和支持的参与度和满意度。”

恢复生命 由Beacon生产,Beacon为CT BHP提供行为健康服务。 Beacon感谢CT BHP的参与合作伙伴:康涅狄格州儿童与家庭部,康涅狄格州心理健康与成瘾服务部,康涅狄格州社会服务部,以及将近6000名照顾康涅狄格州医疗补助人口的行为健康提供者。

Beacon Health Options Premieres the Short Film Michael to Mark World Autism Month

BOSTON, April 25, 2018 – In recognition of World Autism Month, Beacon Health Options (Beacon), the nation’s premier behavioral health management company, is proud to share its short film, Michael. The film offers a window into the life of a 13-year-old boy with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and other mental health conditions who benefits from the services managed by the Connecticut Behavioral Health Partnership (CT BHP). Collaborating with Michael’s providers, his mother works tirelessly to give Michael a normal life while dealing with the challenges of his mental health conditions.

Michael is part of the longer documentary, Recovering Lives, which follows three people living with behavioral health conditions. The documentary was selected to screen at this year’s New Haven Documentary Film Festival and the New Jersey Recovery Film Festival, both on June 2, 2018.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention estimates that 1 in 68 children in the United States has ASD, representing a 119 percent increase since the year 2000.

“Michael is bright. He’s smart. He’s funny. He can do really, really well,” said Cheryl, Michael’s mother. “He can do wonderful things, and I want to just give him that opportunity. I want him to have a normal life.”

To help make this goal a reality, Michael has a Beacon care coordinator who connects him with the care he needs. Additionally, he has a peer specialist who educates and connects his mother to the tools and resources available in their community.

“We are proud to have a robust Peer Specialist program in Connecticut and throughout the company. All of Beacon’s peers and most of our care coordinators have lived experience with autism spectrum disorder,” said Beacon Health Options Director of Autism Services Jennifer Krom. “Research and our own experience show that peer specialists have a transformative effect on the members they serve. They both enhance the quality of life for individuals with ASD as well as improve engagement and satisfaction with services and supports.”

Recovering Lives was produced by Beacon, which administers behavioral health services for the CT BHP. Beacon thanks CT BHP participating partners: the Connecticut Department of Children and Families, the Connecticut Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services, and the Connecticut Department of Social Services, as well as the nearly 6,000 behavioral health providers caring for Connecticut’s Medicaid population.