تقدم الخيارات الصحية للمنارة شهادة الخبراء أمام لجنة كاليفورنيا للصحة ومجلس الشيوخ في جلسة استماع مشتركة حول تحسين نظام تقديم خدمات الصحة العقلية في Medi-Cal

ركزت شهادة الخبراء على زيادة الوصول إلى خدمات الصحة العقلية والاستفادة منها في كاليفورنيا

بوسطن ، 5 مارس 2019 - اليوم ، قدمت سارة أرنكويست ، نائب رئيس شراكات الحساب على الساحل الغربي للخيارات الصحية منارة (بيكون) شهادة الخبراء أمام جمعية كاليفورنيا ولجان الصحة بمجلس الشيوخ في جلسة استماع مشتركة حول تحسين نظام تقديم خدمات الصحة العقلية في Medi-Cal. في كاليفورنيا ، تعمل Beacon مع شبكة تضم ما يقرب من 4000 من مزودي Medi-Cal المستقلين ، وثماني خطط رعاية مُدارة من Medi-Cal ، وما مجموعه 25 مقاطعة من سان دييغو إلى حدود أوريغون. في عام 2018 ، خدمت Beacon ما يقرب من 140،000 مستفيد فريد في كاليفورنيا وقدمت خدمات الرعاية الصحية عن بُعد لحوالي 4000 مستفيد ، وهو رقم تضاعف أربع مرات من 2016 إلى 2018.

شهادة Arnquist المكتوبة الكاملة يمكن العثور عليها هنا.

قالت أرنكويست في شهادتها المكتوبة ، "استنادًا إلى خبرتنا في العمل في العديد من الدول ، نعتقد أن المستفيد يجب أن يكون قادرًا على الوصول إلى جميع المزايا والخدمات المسموح بها عبر السلسلة الكاملة للرعاية من شبكة مزود واحد متماسكة بغض النظر عن مستوى الضعف أو مسؤولية الدافع."

ضمن القيود التنظيمية الحالية ، قدم Arnquist بعض التوصيات الرئيسية لتعزيز هيكل المزايا الحالي لدعم الوقاية والتدخل المبكر بشكل أكثر فعالية ، بما في ذلك ما يلي:

  1. تعزيز أنظمة الأزمات كعنصر أساسي في البنية التحتية الإقليمية وعلى مستوى الدولة. يجب أن تفكر الدولة في إنشاء بعض التوقعات الأساسية لتصميم نظام الأزمات التي يجب أن تشمل إنفاذ القانون والعدالة الجنائية والتعليم وأنظمة رعاية الطفل ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع خطط الرعاية المدارة ، لاستكشاف فرص تحسين التنسيق والوقاية والتدخل المبكر.
  2. دعم نماذج الرعاية التعاونية الافتراضية مع برامج الاستشارات النفسية في الوقت الفعلي لتحسين الوصول والجودة. يجب أن تستثمر كاليفورنيا في برنامج استشاري نفسي إقليمي واسع النطاق ، مثل برنامج الوصول إلى الطب النفسي للأطفال في ماساتشوستس (MCPAP) ، الذي يحسن الوصول والجودة من خلال توفير الدعم في الوقت الحقيقي لمقدمي الرعاية النفسية. يجب أن يكون البرنامج حياديًا. يمكن أن تكون مصادر التمويل المحتملة الاقتراح 56 أو قانون خدمات الصحة العقلية.
  3. توسيع مجموعة خدمات الوقاية والتدخل المبكر التي يمكن أن تشتريها خطط Medi-Cal الصحية. يمكن أن يؤدي ذلك إلى تحسين قدرة خطط Medi-Cal على الحفاظ على الأفراد عند مستوى خفيف إلى متوسط. ومن الأمثلة على أنواع الخدمات المسندة بالأدلة التي يمكن تضمينها دفع تكاليف العلاج الأسري والضمانات الجانبية وتنسيق الرعاية والسماح للخدمات المقدمة من قبل الأقران والأفراد ذوي الخبرة الحية.

واختتمت حديثها بقول ذلك "نعتقد أن كاليفورنيا لديها فرص لتعديل وتحسين تنظيم نظام الصحة العقلية العام لديها لسحب المزيد من السداد الفيدرالي ، وزيادة الوصول إلى رعاية عالية الجودة ، وفي النهاية تقديم نتائج أفضل للعملاء."

Beacon Health Options Provides Expert Testimony Before California Assembly and Senate Health Committees at Joint Hearing on Improving the Medi-Cal Mental Health Delivery System

Expert testimony focused on increasing access and utilization for mental health services in California

Boston, March 5, 2019Today, Sarah Arnquist, Vice President of Account Partnerships on the West Coast for Beacon Health Options (Beacon) provided expert testimony before the California Assembly and Senate Health Committees at a Joint Hearing on Improving the Medi-Cal Mental Health Delivery System. In California, Beacon works with a network of nearly 4,000 independent Medi-Cal providers, eight Medi-Cal managed care plans, and a total of 25 counties from San Diego to the Oregon Border. In 2018, Beacon served approximately 140,000 unique beneficiaries in California and provided telehealth services to about 4,000 beneficiaries, a number that quadrupled from 2016 to 2018.

Arnquist’s full written testimony can be found here.

In her written testimony, Arnquist said, “Based on our experience working in many states, we believe that a beneficiary should be able to access all allowable benefits and services across full continuum of care from a single, cohesive provider network regardless of level of impairment or payer responsibility.”

Within the existing regulatory constraints, Arnquist offered a few key recommendations to enhance the existing benefit structure to more effectively support prevention and early intervention, including the following:

  1. Strengthen crisis systems as a key element of regional and state-wide infrastructure. The state should consider creating some baseline expectations for crisis system design that should include law enforcement, criminal justice, education and the child welfare systems, along with the managed care plans, to explore opportunities for better coordination, prevention and early intervention.
  2. Support virtual collaborative care models with real-time psychiatric consultation programs to improve access and quality. California should invest in a large-scale, regional psychiatric consultation program, like the Massachusetts Child Psychiatry Access Program (MCPAP), that improves access and quality by providing real-time support to PCPs. The program should be payer agnostic. Potential funding sources could be Proposition 56 or the Mental Health Services Act.
  3. Expand the array of prevention and early intervention services that Medi-Cal health plans can purchase. This can improve the Medi-Cal plans’ ability to maintain individuals at the mild to moderate level. Examples of the types of evidence-based services that could be included are paying for family therapy, collateral and care coordination, and allowing for services rendered by peers and individuals with lived experience.

Finally, she concluded by stating that “we believe that California has opportunities to modify and improve the organization of its public mental health system to draw down more federal reimbursement, increase access to high quality care, and ultimately deliver better client outcomes.”