在加利福尼亚州议会和参议院健康委员会就改善Medi-Cal心理健康提供系统进行联合听证会之前,Beacon Health Options提供了专家证词

专家证词的重点是增加加利福尼亚州精神卫生服务的获取和利用

波士顿,2019年3月5日今天,西海岸信标健康选择(Beacon)客户合作伙伴关系副总裁Sarah Arnquist在加利福尼亚州议会和参议院卫生委员会举行的关于改善Medi-Cal精神卫生交付系统的联合听证会上作了专家证词。在加利福尼亚州,Beacon与近4,000个独立Medi-Cal提供者网络,八个Medi-Cal管理的护理计划以及从圣地亚哥到俄勒冈州边境的25个县一起工作。在2018年,信标为加利福尼亚州约14万名独特的受益人提供服务,并为约4,000名受益人提供了远程医疗服务,这一数字是2016年至2018年的三倍。

阿奎斯特的完整书面证词 可以在这里找到.

阿奎斯特(Arnquist)在书面证词中说: “基于我们在许多州工作的经验,我们相信受益人应该能够从单一的,具有凝聚力的提供商网络中,在整个连续的照护服务中获得所有可允许的利益和服务,而不管损害水平或付款人的责任如何。”

在现有的监管限制内,Anquist提供了一些关键建议以增强现有的利益结构,以更有效地支持预防和早期干预,包括以下内容:

  1. 加强危机系统是区域和全州基础设施的关键要素。 纽约州应考虑为危机系统设计制定一些基线期望,其中应包括执法,刑事司法,教育和儿童福利系统,以及管理式照护计划,以探索改善协调,预防和早期干预的机会。
  2. 通过实时精神病咨询程序支持虚拟协作医疗模型,以改善访问和质量。 加利福尼亚州应该投资大规模的区域性精神病咨询计划,例如马萨诸塞州儿童精神病学访问计划(MCPAP),该计划通过为PCP提供实时支持来改善访问和质量。该程序应与付款人无关。潜在的资金来源可能是第56号提案或《精神卫生服务法》。
  3. 扩大Medi-Cal健康计划可以购买的预防和早期干预服务范围。 这可以提高Medi-Cal计划将个人维持在轻度到中度水平的能力。可以包括的基于证据的服务类型的例子包括为家庭治疗,抵押和护理协调付费,并允许具有经验的同龄人和个人提供服务。

最后,她总结说 “我们相信加利福尼亚州有机会修改和改善其公共精神卫生系统的组织结构,以减少更多的联邦费用,增加获得高质量护理的机会,并最终为患者带来更好的结果。”

Beacon Health Options Provides Expert Testimony Before California Assembly and Senate Health Committees at Joint Hearing on Improving the Medi-Cal Mental Health Delivery System

Expert testimony focused on increasing access and utilization for mental health services in California

Boston, March 5, 2019Today, Sarah Arnquist, Vice President of Account Partnerships on the West Coast for Beacon Health Options (Beacon) provided expert testimony before the California Assembly and Senate Health Committees at a Joint Hearing on Improving the Medi-Cal Mental Health Delivery System. In California, Beacon works with a network of nearly 4,000 independent Medi-Cal providers, eight Medi-Cal managed care plans, and a total of 25 counties from San Diego to the Oregon Border. In 2018, Beacon served approximately 140,000 unique beneficiaries in California and provided telehealth services to about 4,000 beneficiaries, a number that quadrupled from 2016 to 2018.

Arnquist’s full written testimony can be found here.

In her written testimony, Arnquist said, “Based on our experience working in many states, we believe that a beneficiary should be able to access all allowable benefits and services across full continuum of care from a single, cohesive provider network regardless of level of impairment or payer responsibility.”

Within the existing regulatory constraints, Arnquist offered a few key recommendations to enhance the existing benefit structure to more effectively support prevention and early intervention, including the following:

  1. Strengthen crisis systems as a key element of regional and state-wide infrastructure. The state should consider creating some baseline expectations for crisis system design that should include law enforcement, criminal justice, education and the child welfare systems, along with the managed care plans, to explore opportunities for better coordination, prevention and early intervention.
  2. Support virtual collaborative care models with real-time psychiatric consultation programs to improve access and quality. California should invest in a large-scale, regional psychiatric consultation program, like the Massachusetts Child Psychiatry Access Program (MCPAP), that improves access and quality by providing real-time support to PCPs. The program should be payer agnostic. Potential funding sources could be Proposition 56 or the Mental Health Services Act.
  3. Expand the array of prevention and early intervention services that Medi-Cal health plans can purchase. This can improve the Medi-Cal plans’ ability to maintain individuals at the mild to moderate level. Examples of the types of evidence-based services that could be included are paying for family therapy, collateral and care coordination, and allowing for services rendered by peers and individuals with lived experience.

Finally, she concluded by stating that “we believe that California has opportunities to modify and improve the organization of its public mental health system to draw down more federal reimbursement, increase access to high quality care, and ultimately deliver better client outcomes.”