信标健康选择为陷入双重阿片类药物使用障碍和COVID-19大流行的患者提供所需的救济

以 $125,000 的额外资金向非营利组织提供赠款

波士顿,2021 年 1 月 21 日 – – COVID-19 对美国经济、我们的医疗保健系统和我们全国的个人产生了巨大影响。然而,还有另一个问题正在影响马萨诸塞州和全国大部分地区;虽然它目前没有成为头条新闻,但它却因 COVID 的爆发——阿片类药物的流行而加剧。

在马萨诸塞州,阿片类药物使用障碍 (OUD) 增加的危机没有减弱的迹象。初步的 数据 表明,在 2020 年前九个月,有 1,517 人确认和估计与阿片类药物相关的过量死亡人数——比 2019 年前九个月更多。而马萨诸塞州的医疗服务提供者 写了 每 100 人有 35.3 个阿片类药物处方,这是该国最低的处方率之一,低于美国 51.4 个处方的平均比率。显然,需要做更多的工作来拯救因阿片类药物使用障碍而过早夺走的生命。

2019 年底,为了帮助解决马萨诸塞州持续的危机,总部位于波士顿的领先行为健康服务公司 Beacon Health Options 宣布向四个社区行为健康组织发放 $128,800 赠款。赠款资金旨在帮助获奖者增加其客户与药物辅助治疗 (MAT) 的联系,这是一种治疗 OUD 的循证方法。由于该计划的成功,Beacon 将再资助相同的四个组织一年,并从 2020 年末开始额外提供 $125,000。

该创新资助计划第一年的成果包括:

波士顿无家可归者医疗保健计划 (BHCHP) 的目标是在 2020 年通过远程医疗认知行为疗法在该计划的移动成瘾诊所实施移动医疗和 MAT 服务。 4月以来,参与BHCHP办公室戒瘾治疗(OBAT)服务的500多名患者中,近80%至少接受过一次远程医疗技术护理,超过80%留在治疗中。此外,在 4 月至 8 月期间,超过 150 名患者通过远程医疗开始或重新开始治疗 OUD。 “特别是当我们面对 COVID-19 大流行、用药过量和复发的风险不断上升以及获得医疗保健和治疗服务的障碍更高时,Beacon Health Options 的支持正在帮助我们解决这两个融合的公共卫生问题无家可归和阿片类药物使用障碍的危机。它确保我们能够提供持续的治疗和行为健康服务,同时减少接触 COVID-19,” BHCHP 首席医疗官 Jessie Gaeta 医学博士说。

基于布鲁克莱恩 伯恩伍德卫生系统 使用他们的赠款开发了一个门诊 MAT 计划,其中包括使用智能手机技术。因此,Bournewood 的门诊部分住院计划 (PHP) 能够更有效地筛查阿片类药物使用障碍患者并提供 MAT 诱导/桥接/转诊。他们已开始提供 COR-12 智能手机应用程序作为辅助工具,以帮助在进行虚拟治疗的同时促进清醒。此外,他们已经能够推出丁丙诺啡/纳洛酮的电子处方,从而提供更有效和更安全的处方。 Bournewood 首席执行官 Marcia Fowler 表示:“我们非常感谢从 Beacon 获得的资金,这使我们能够扩展基本物质使用障碍服务,加强我们服务的个人的康复之路。”

洛厄尔之家 其目标是将 Beacon 的资金用于利用 Uber Health,以减轻使用 MAT 的交通障碍。缺乏交通是个人无法获得治疗的主要原因之一。年内,96 位 Lowell House 客户完成了 332 次排毒和 MAT 计划。如果没有这些拯救生命的游乐设施,这些人中没有一个人有能力接受治疗。 “我们的许多客户直接从这笔赠款中受益。提供的资源帮助他们获得并继续接受治疗,这是帮助客户保持康复的主要组成部分,”洛厄尔之家男士康复之家的项目经理弗兰克理查森说。

最后,目标是采用软件技术来提高对 MAT 治疗计划的参与度和依从性 北萨福克精神健康 有它的赠款。阿片类药物成瘾恢复服务软件 MATOARS 从 COVID -19 之前的服务增强功能转变为大流行爆发后的必备工具。该软件已与该组织的远程医疗业务无缝集成,并在如此多的患者被隔离的情况下增加了治疗的联系和参与度。 “尽管 COVID-19 大流行带来了多重挑战,推迟了 MATOARS 试点的实施,但在 Beacon 坚定不移的支持和指导下,我们能够忍受和坚持直到我们实现目标。在该计划的第二年,我们期待着 MATOARS 支持并让更多人参与我们的 MAT 计划,这将扩大其治疗选择,包括 Sublocade,”北萨福克大学首席医疗官 Manjola Van Alphen 医学博士、博士、MBA 说.

“我们资助这些组织的目标是帮助提供者推动创新并找到可持续的方式将客户与药物辅助治疗联系起来,”Beacon 的临时总裁 Susan Coakley 说。 “我们对我们的合作伙伴取得的成果感到非常满意,并期待在帮助个人获得治疗阿片类药物使用障碍所需的服务方面又取得成功的一年。”

关于信标健康选项

Beacon Health Options是一家领先的行为健康服务公司,为全美50个州的9人中的1人提供服务。我们与雇主,健康计划和政府机构合作,以支持精神健康和情绪健康,物质使用失调的恢复以及员工健康计划,这些计划每天都在改善人们的健康状况。我们的多模式,洞察力驱动的方法使我们能够整合社交,行为和身体健康解决方案,从而为我们服务的每个人带来更好的结果。通过与全国各地社区的提供者网络合作,我们帮助个人最大程度地发挥自己的生活。有关更多信息,请访问 www.beaconhealthoptions.com 并与我们联系 www.facebook.com/beaconhealthoptions, www.twitter.com/beaconhealthoptwww.linkedin.com/company/beacon-health-options.

联系:
克里斯·柯伦
857-243-0472

Beacon Health Options provides needed relief for those caught in twin pandemics of opioid use disorder and COVID-19

Extends grants to non-profits with $125,000 in additional funding

Boston, January 21, 2021 – – COVID-19 has had a tremendous impact on the U.S. economy, our healthcare system and individuals across our nation. Yet, there is another issue that is affecting Massachusetts, and much of the country; and while it is not currently garnering the headlines it used to it is exacerbated by the COVID outbreak – the opioid epidemic.

The crisis of increasing opioid use disorder (OUD) shows no sign of abating in Massachusetts. Preliminary data indicates that during the first nine months of 2020, there were 1,517 confirmed and estimated opioid related overdose deaths – more deaths than the first nine months of 2019. While Massachusetts providers wrote 35.3 opioid prescriptions for every 100 persons, this was among the lowest prescribing rates in the country and less than the average U.S. rate of 51.4 prescriptions. Clearly, more needs to be done to save lives that are being taken prematurely by opioid use disorder.

In late 2019, to help address this ongoing crisis in Massachusetts, Beacon Health Options, a leading behavioral health services company headquartered in Boston, announced the distribution of $128,800 in grants to four community-based behavioral health organizations. The grant funding was intended to help awardees increase their clients’ connectivity to medication-assisted treatment (MAT), an evidence-based approach to treating OUD. Due to the program’s success, Beacon will fund the same four organizations for another year, with an additional $125,000 starting in late 2020.

The results of the first year of this innovative grant program include:

Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program (BHCHP) had a goal for 2020 of implementing mobile health and MAT services with telehealth cognitive behavioral therapy on the program’s mobile addiction clinic. Since April, nearly 80% of the more than 500 patients engaged in BHCHP’s office-based addiction treatment (OBAT) services have received care at least once using telehealth technology, and more than 80% stayed in treatment. Furthermore, between April and August, more than 150 patients started or reinitiated treatment for OUD via telehealth. “Especially as we confront the COVID-19 pandemic, with the risk of overdose and relapse on the rise and the barriers to accessing health care and treatment services that much higher, Beacon Health Options’ support is helping us to address the two converging public health crises of homelessness and opioid use disorders.  It ensures that we are able to provide continuous access to treatment and behavioral health services while reducing exposure to COVID-19,” said Jessie Gaeta, MD, Chief Medical Officer of BHCHP.

Brookline-based Bournewood Health Systems used their grant funds to develop an outpatient MAT program, which included the use of smart phone technology. As a result, Bournewood’s outpatient partial hospitalization program (PHP) has been able to more effectively screen patients with opioid use disorder and offer MAT induction/bridging/referral.  They have begun providing the COR-12 smart phone app as an additional tool to help promote sobriety while engaging in virtual treatment.  Additionally, they have been able to roll out e-prescribing of Buprenorphine/naloxone which provides for more efficient and secure prescribing. “We are extremely grateful for the funding we received from Beacon, which allows us to extend essential substance use disorder services, strengthening the path to recovery for the individuals we serve,” said Marcia Fowler, Chief Executive Officer of Bournewood.

Lowell House had a goal of putting its funds from Beacon toward utilization of Uber Health to mitigate transportation barriers to accessing MAT. Lack of access to transportation is one of the top reasons individuals are unable to access treatment. During the year, 96 Lowell House clients completed 332 trips to detox and MAT programs. None of these individuals would have had the ability to access treatment if it weren’t for these life-saving rides. “So many of our clients benefitted directly from this grant. The resources provided helped them access and remain in treatment, which are major components in helping clients maintain their recovery,” said Frank Richardson, Program Manager at Lowell House’s Men’s Recovery Home.

Lastly, adopting software technology to increase engagement and adherence to MAT treatment plans is the goal North Suffolk Mental Health had for its grant. MATOARS, the Opioid Addiction Recovery Services software, went from being an enhancement to services prior to COVID -19, to an essential tool once the pandemic hit. The software has integrated seamlessly with the organization’s telehealth operations, and increased connectedness and engagement in treatment during a time when so many patients are isolated. “Despite the multiple challenges brought in by the COVID-19 pandemic that delayed implementation of the MATOARS pilot, we were able to endure and persist until we achieved our goal together with Beacon’s unwavering support and guidance. In this second year of the program, we look forward to MATOARS supporting and enabling greater access to our MAT program which will expand its treatment options to include Sublocade,” said Manjola Van Alphen, MD, PhD, MBA, Chief Medical Officer of North Suffolk.

“Our goal in funding these organizations was to help providers drive innovation and find sustainable ways to connect clients to medication-assisted treatment,” said Susan Coakley, Beacon’s Interim President. “We’re very pleased with the results our partners have achieved and look forward to another successful year of helping individuals get the services they need to treat their opioid use disorder.”

About Beacon Health Options

Beacon Health Options is a leading behavioral health services company serving 1 out of 9 people across all 50 states. We work with employers, health plans and government agencies to support mental health and emotional wellbeing, substance use disorder recovery, and employee health programs that improve the health and wellness of people every day. Our multi-modal, insights driven approach allows us to integrate social, behavioral and physical health solutions to drive improved outcomes for everyone we serve. By collaborating with a network of providers in communities around the country, we help individuals live their lives to the fullest potential. For more information, visit www.beaconhealthoptions.com and connect with us on www.facebook.com/beaconhealthoptions, www.twitter.com/beaconhealthopt and www.linkedin.com/company/beacon-health-options.