Beacon Health Options обеспечивает необходимое облегчение для тех, кто попал в двойную пандемию расстройства, связанного с употреблением опиоидов, и COVID-19

Предоставляет гранты некоммерческим организациям с дополнительным финансированием в размере $125,000

Бостон, 21 января 2021 г. – – COVID-19 has had a tremendous impact on the U.S. economy, our healthcare system and individuals across our nation. Yet, there is another issue that is affecting Massachusetts, and much of the country; and while it is not currently garnering the headlines it used to it is exacerbated by the COVID outbreak – the opioid epidemic.

Кризис растущего расстройства, связанного с употреблением опиоидов (OUD), не показывает никаких признаков ослабления в Массачусетсе. Предварительный данные указывает, что в течение первых девяти месяцев 2020 года было подтверждено и оценено 1517 случаев смерти от передозировки опиоидов - больше, чем за первые девять месяцев 2019 года. написал 35,3 рецепта на опиоиды на каждые 100 человек, это один из самых низких показателей выписывания рецептов в стране и меньше, чем средний показатель в США (51,4 рецепта). Ясно, что необходимо сделать больше для спасения жизней, которые преждевременно забираются из-за расстройства, связанного с употреблением опиоидов.

В конце 2019 года, чтобы помочь преодолеть этот продолжающийся кризис в Массачусетсе, Beacon Health Options, ведущая компания по оказанию услуг в области психического здоровья со штаб-квартирой в Бостоне, объявила о распределении $128,800 в виде грантов четырем организациям по охране психического здоровья на уровне сообществ. Финансирование гранта было предназначено для того, чтобы помочь лауреатам расширить возможности подключения их клиентов к лечению с помощью лекарств (MAT) - научно-обоснованному подходу к лечению OUD. Благодаря успеху программы Beacon будет финансировать те же четыре организации в течение еще одного года с дополнительными $125000, начиная с конца 2020 года.

По результатам первого года реализации этой инновационной грантовой программы:

Бостонская программа медицинского обслуживания бездомных (BHCHP) had a goal for 2020 of implementing mobile health and MAT services with telehealth cognitive behavioral therapy on the program’s mobile addiction clinic. Since April, nearly 80% of the more than 500 patients engaged in BHCHP’s office-based addiction treatment (OBAT) services have received care at least once using telehealth technology, and more than 80% stayed in treatment. Furthermore, between April and August, more than 150 patients started or reinitiated treatment for OUD via telehealth. “Especially as we confront the COVID-19 pandemic, with the risk of overdose and relapse on the rise and the barriers to accessing health care and treatment services that much higher, Beacon Health Options’ support is helping us to address the two converging public health crises of homelessness and opioid use disorders.  It ensures that we are able to provide continuous access to treatment and behavioral health services while reducing exposure to COVID-19,” said Jessie Gaeta, MD, Chief Medical Officer of BHCHP.

Бруклинский Bournewood Health Systems использовали свои грантовые средства для разработки амбулаторной программы MAT, которая включала использование смартфонов. В результате программа частичной амбулаторной госпитализации (PHP) Bournewood смогла более эффективно проверять пациентов с расстройствами, связанными с употреблением опиоидов, и предлагать вводные / промежуточные / перенаправления MAT. Они начали предоставлять приложение для смартфонов COR-12 в качестве дополнительного инструмента, помогающего продвигать трезвость во время виртуального лечения. Кроме того, они смогли развернуть электронное назначение бупренорфина / налоксона, что обеспечивает более эффективное и безопасное назначение. «Мы чрезвычайно благодарны за финансирование, которое мы получили от Beacon, которое позволяет нам расширять услуги по лечению расстройств, связанных с употреблением психоактивных веществ, укрепляя путь к выздоровлению для людей, которым мы служим», - сказала Марсия Фаулер, главный исполнительный директор Bournewood.

Лоуэлл Хаус была цель направить средства от Beacon на использование Uber Health для снижения транспортных барьеров для доступа к MAT. Отсутствие доступа к транспорту - одна из основных причин, по которым люди не могут получить доступ к лечению. В течение года 96 клиентов Lowell House совершили 332 поездки по программам детоксикации и MAT. Ни у кого из этих людей не было бы возможности получить лечение, если бы не эти спасательные поездки. «Многие наши клиенты получили прямую выгоду от этого гранта. Предоставленные ресурсы помогли им получить доступ к лечению и продолжить лечение, которое является важным компонентом, помогающим клиентам поддерживать свое выздоровление », - сказал Фрэнк Ричардсон, руководитель программы в Доме восстановления мужчин Lowell House.

Наконец, целью является внедрение программных технологий для повышения вовлеченности и приверженности планам лечения ОЗТ. Психическое здоровье Северного Саффолка имел за его грант. MATOARS, программное обеспечение для оказания помощи при опиоидной зависимости, превратилось из дополнения к услугам, предоставлявшимся до COVID-19, в незаменимый инструмент после пандемии. Программное обеспечение легко интегрировалось с операциями телемедицины организации и повысило взаимосвязь и участие в лечении в то время, когда так много пациентов изолированы. «Несмотря на многочисленные проблемы, вызванные пандемией COVID-19, которая задержала внедрение пилотного проекта MATOARS, мы смогли выстоять и упорствовать, пока мы не достигли нашей цели вместе с непоколебимой поддержкой и руководством Beacon. В течение этого второго года программы мы надеемся, что MATOARS поддержит нашу программу MAT и предоставит более широкий доступ к ней, которая расширит возможности лечения, включив в нее Sublocade », - сказал Манджола Ван Альфен, доктор медицины, доктор философии, магистр делового администрирования, главный медицинский директор Северного Саффолка. .

«Наша цель при финансировании этих организаций заключалась в том, чтобы помочь поставщикам внедрять инновации и находить устойчивые способы подключения клиентов к медикаментозному лечению», - сказала Сьюзан Коукли, временный президент Beacon. «Мы очень довольны результатами, которых достигли наши партнеры, и надеемся на еще один успешный год оказания помощи людям в получении услуг, необходимых для лечения их расстройства, связанного с употреблением опиоидов».

О параметрах состояния Beacon Health

Beacon Health Options - ведущая компания по оказанию услуг в области психического здоровья, обслуживающая 1 из 9 человек во всех 50 штатах. Мы работаем с работодателями, медицинскими страховыми планами и государственными учреждениями для поддержки психического здоровья и эмоционального благополучия, выздоровления от наркозависимости и программ здоровья сотрудников, которые улучшают здоровье и благополучие людей каждый день. Наш многомодальный подход, основанный на аналитических данных, позволяет нам интегрировать решения в области социального, поведенческого и физического здоровья для улучшения результатов для всех, кого мы обслуживаем. Сотрудничая с сетью поставщиков услуг в сообществах по всей стране, мы помогаем людям жить своей жизнью в полной мере. Для получения дополнительной информации посетите www.beaconhealthoptions.com и свяжитесь с нами на www.facebook.com/beaconhealthoptions, www.twitter.com/beaconhealthopt а также www.linkedin.com/company/beacon-health-options.

Контакты:
Крис Карран
857-243-0472

Beacon Health Options provides needed relief for those caught in twin pandemics of opioid use disorder and COVID-19

Extends grants to non-profits with $125,000 in additional funding

Boston, January 21, 2021 – – COVID-19 has had a tremendous impact on the U.S. economy, our healthcare system and individuals across our nation. Yet, there is another issue that is affecting Massachusetts, and much of the country; and while it is not currently garnering the headlines it used to it is exacerbated by the COVID outbreak – the opioid epidemic.

The crisis of increasing opioid use disorder (OUD) shows no sign of abating in Massachusetts. Preliminary data indicates that during the first nine months of 2020, there were 1,517 confirmed and estimated opioid related overdose deaths – more deaths than the first nine months of 2019. While Massachusetts providers wrote 35.3 opioid prescriptions for every 100 persons, this was among the lowest prescribing rates in the country and less than the average U.S. rate of 51.4 prescriptions. Clearly, more needs to be done to save lives that are being taken prematurely by opioid use disorder.

In late 2019, to help address this ongoing crisis in Massachusetts, Beacon Health Options, a leading behavioral health services company headquartered in Boston, announced the distribution of $128,800 in grants to four community-based behavioral health organizations. The grant funding was intended to help awardees increase their clients’ connectivity to medication-assisted treatment (MAT), an evidence-based approach to treating OUD. Due to the program’s success, Beacon will fund the same four organizations for another year, with an additional $125,000 starting in late 2020.

The results of the first year of this innovative grant program include:

Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program (BHCHP) had a goal for 2020 of implementing mobile health and MAT services with telehealth cognitive behavioral therapy on the program’s mobile addiction clinic. Since April, nearly 80% of the more than 500 patients engaged in BHCHP’s office-based addiction treatment (OBAT) services have received care at least once using telehealth technology, and more than 80% stayed in treatment. Furthermore, between April and August, more than 150 patients started or reinitiated treatment for OUD via telehealth. “Especially as we confront the COVID-19 pandemic, with the risk of overdose and relapse on the rise and the barriers to accessing health care and treatment services that much higher, Beacon Health Options’ support is helping us to address the two converging public health crises of homelessness and opioid use disorders.  It ensures that we are able to provide continuous access to treatment and behavioral health services while reducing exposure to COVID-19,” said Jessie Gaeta, MD, Chief Medical Officer of BHCHP.

Brookline-based Bournewood Health Systems used their grant funds to develop an outpatient MAT program, which included the use of smart phone technology. As a result, Bournewood’s outpatient partial hospitalization program (PHP) has been able to more effectively screen patients with opioid use disorder and offer MAT induction/bridging/referral.  They have begun providing the COR-12 smart phone app as an additional tool to help promote sobriety while engaging in virtual treatment.  Additionally, they have been able to roll out e-prescribing of Buprenorphine/naloxone which provides for more efficient and secure prescribing. “We are extremely grateful for the funding we received from Beacon, which allows us to extend essential substance use disorder services, strengthening the path to recovery for the individuals we serve,” said Marcia Fowler, Chief Executive Officer of Bournewood.

Lowell House had a goal of putting its funds from Beacon toward utilization of Uber Health to mitigate transportation barriers to accessing MAT. Lack of access to transportation is one of the top reasons individuals are unable to access treatment. During the year, 96 Lowell House clients completed 332 trips to detox and MAT programs. None of these individuals would have had the ability to access treatment if it weren’t for these life-saving rides. “So many of our clients benefitted directly from this grant. The resources provided helped them access and remain in treatment, which are major components in helping clients maintain their recovery,” said Frank Richardson, Program Manager at Lowell House’s Men’s Recovery Home.

Lastly, adopting software technology to increase engagement and adherence to MAT treatment plans is the goal North Suffolk Mental Health had for its grant. MATOARS, the Opioid Addiction Recovery Services software, went from being an enhancement to services prior to COVID -19, to an essential tool once the pandemic hit. The software has integrated seamlessly with the organization’s telehealth operations, and increased connectedness and engagement in treatment during a time when so many patients are isolated. “Despite the multiple challenges brought in by the COVID-19 pandemic that delayed implementation of the MATOARS pilot, we were able to endure and persist until we achieved our goal together with Beacon’s unwavering support and guidance. In this second year of the program, we look forward to MATOARS supporting and enabling greater access to our MAT program which will expand its treatment options to include Sublocade,” said Manjola Van Alphen, MD, PhD, MBA, Chief Medical Officer of North Suffolk.

“Our goal in funding these organizations was to help providers drive innovation and find sustainable ways to connect clients to medication-assisted treatment,” said Susan Coakley, Beacon’s Interim President. “We’re very pleased with the results our partners have achieved and look forward to another successful year of helping individuals get the services they need to treat their opioid use disorder.”

About Beacon Health Options

Beacon Health Options is a leading behavioral health services company serving 1 out of 9 people across all 50 states. We work with employers, health plans and government agencies to support mental health and emotional wellbeing, substance use disorder recovery, and employee health programs that improve the health and wellness of people every day. Our multi-modal, insights driven approach allows us to integrate social, behavioral and physical health solutions to drive improved outcomes for everyone we serve. By collaborating with a network of providers in communities around the country, we help individuals live their lives to the fullest potential. For more information, visit www.beaconhealthoptions.com and connect with us on www.facebook.com/beaconhealthoptions, www.twitter.com/beaconhealthopt and www.linkedin.com/company/beacon-health-options.