赌博疾病

大多数人很容易享受偶尔购买彩票,与一些好友打扑克,在办公室体育馆投注,甚至周末去赌场的乐趣。对他们来说,赌博是一种无害的娱乐方式。但是,对于数百万的美国人来说,赌博的欲望如此强烈,可能导致负面的健康和个人后果,例如失去重要的家庭关系或就业,酗酒或吸毒,抑郁,焦虑和经济困难。

比以往任何时候都有更多的赌博机会。全国各地的赌场和其他游戏场所的数量正在增长,今年在线游戏市场预计将达到$41.3十亿,在过去十年中增长了两倍。根据全国赌博问题委员会(NCPG)的统计,大约有200万美国成年人符合赌博疾病的标准,并且有4至600万被视为问题赌徒。问题赌博的影响是深远的,不仅会因犯罪,医疗和行为治疗,工作时间损失,破产,失业和无家可归而对国家的社会和经济资源造成巨大的影响,还会影响朋友和家人。

先前在《精神疾病诊断和统计手册》中定义为病理性赌博的赌博性疾病已重新归类为成瘾性疾病。正如美国精神病学协会所建议的那样,这种新的分类反映了研究发现,即赌博疾病在临床表达,脑源,合并症,生理学和治疗方面类似于物质使用疾病。

赌博性疾病的特点是:

  • 全神贯注于赌博
  • 需要更频繁地下注更多钱
  • 感到无助,内gui,焦虑或沮丧时赌博
  • 无法赌博时躁动不安或烦躁不安
  • 拒绝和说谎
  • “追逐”损失以追回因赌博而损失的款项
  • 尽管造成严重的负面后果,但仍在继续赌博

许多患有赌博疾病的人还努力应对共同发生的物质使用障碍或精神病问题。最近的一项研究报告说,经诊断的赌徒73%存在酗酒问题。 38%有药物滥用症; 50%有情绪障碍; 61%有人格障碍。赌博失调的人也可能有更大的自杀风险。

赌博疾病是一种可诊断的行为健康状况,可以在获得许可的行为健康专业人员的帮助下进行治疗。信标拥有工具,资源和经过验证的临床过程,可帮助识别赌博成瘾者,并将他们与适当的资源(通常是认证问题赌博咨询员)联系起来,以帮助克服这种疾病。

BEACON的堪萨斯经验

灯塔健康选择公司ValueOptions-Kansas代表堪萨斯州衰老和残障服务部(KDADS)管理堪萨斯州的问题赌博和其他成瘾基金(PGAF)计划。 PGAF计划由净彩票,宾果游戏和赌场收入的2%资助。该计划为面临赌博成瘾的人们提供补贴,负担得起的行为健康治疗-很多时候是完全免费的。服务包括个人,团体和家庭治疗;住院治疗;案例管理;和正式的干预措施。

从2011年开始,我们与州政府紧密合作,帮助开发了PGAF计划。计划标准;摄入,同时检查和排放过程和形式;和数据收集系统。我们与州政府机构负责人合作,为PGAF提供者网络开发了更新的认证标准,针对问题赌博的新合同附录以及当前由州政府发行的堪萨斯州问题赌博顾问证书。我们利用我们现有的认证系统,将新开发的标准纳入新的和现有提供商的认证中。我们的员工还与堪萨斯州联络处紧密合作,以制定PGAF提供者指南。最后,我们协调了咨询委员会的选择和管理,以帮助制定有关PGAF计划资金和实施的政策。

在PGAF计划的前17个月中:

  • PGAF计划参与者中有三分之一的人报告赌博关注度有所下降
  • 46.2%的参与者报告了与赌博相关的后果较少
  • 46.2%的参与者还报告了赌博禁欲
  • 参加自助计划的人数增加了18%

保养

PGAF治疗的两个主要推荐来源是堪萨斯问题赌博帮助热线,其次是赌徒的家人,朋友或治疗专家。赌徒或其他与可能是问题赌徒的人有关的人可以24/7全天候获得帮助热线。帮助热线工作人员回答问题,并转介给我们40位经过认证的问题赌博咨询师之一。

我们还将通过我们的提供商自己来确定潜在的问题赌徒。作为堪萨斯州物质使用失调的管理员
(SUD)网络,我们指示我们的SUD提供者对会员进行赌博问题筛查症状的筛查,并根据需要转介至PGAF网络。实际上,我们的PGAF提供者中的56%被交叉认证为SUD专家。

一旦堪萨斯州行为服务监管委员会许可的临床医生确定了医疗必要性标准,就可以确保提供商对服务请求做出快速响应,并迅速将授权输入到我们的专有数据库中。这样,我们确保可以快速,准确地支付提供者的索赔。

我们已制定政策和程序来管理PGAF,以符合KDADS的要求,以确保个人有资格并满足问题赌博治疗的医疗需求。提供者必须完成并提交评估,同时进行的审查和出院表格以授权,继续和完成治疗。我们正在将这些表格集成到支持Web的提供商门户中,以便我们可以电子方式捕获PGAF数据元素。

Beacon拥有从头开始并与我们的州合作伙伴直接合作建立问题赌博治疗系统的经验。基于我们的定制解决方案,可靠的技术和临床专业知识,我们可以有效地解决您与计划赌博相关的问题。

Gambling Disorders

Most people easily enjoy purchasing an occasional lottery ticket, playing poker with some buddies, betting on the office sports pool or even taking a weekend trip to a casino. For them, gambling is a harmless form of entertainment. However, for millions of Americans, the desire to gamble is so strong it can lead to negative health and personal consequences such as loss of significant family relationships or employment, alcohol or drug abuse, depression, anxiety and financial hardship.

There are more opportunities to gamble than ever before. The number of casinos and other gaming locations are growing across the country and the online gaming market is expected to reach $41.3 billion this year, tripling in growth over the past decade. According to the National Council on Problem Gambling (NCPG), approximately 2 million U.S. adults meet the criteria for gambling disorder and 4 to 6 million are considered problem gamblers. The impact of problem gambling is far reaching, affecting friends and family members in addition to making a costly impact on state social and economic resources due to crime, medical and behavioral treatment, lost work time, bankruptcy, unemployment and homelessness.

Gambling disorder, previously defined in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders as pathological gambling, is re-categorized as an addictive disorder. As suggested by the American Psychiatric Association, this new classification reflects research findings that gambling disorder is similar to substance use disorders in clinical expression, brain origin, comorbidity, physiology, and treatment.

Gambling disorder is characterized by:

  • Increasing preoccupation with gambling
  • A need to bet more money more frequently
  • Gambling when feeling helpless, guilty, anxious or depressed
  • Restlessness or irritability when not able to gamble
  • Denial and lying
  • “Chasing” losses to recover monies lost on gambling
  • Continuing to gamble in spite of mounting, serious, negative consequences

Many people with gambling disorder are also struggling with co-occurring substance use disorders or psychiatric issues. A recent study reported that 73% of diagnosed gamblers had an alcohol abuse problem; 38% had a drug use disorder; 50% had a mood disorder; and 61% has a personality disorder. People with gambling disorder may also have a greater risk of suicide.

Gambling disorder is a diagnosable behavioral health condition that can be treated with the help of licensed behavioral health professionals. Beacon has the tools, resources, and proven clinical processes to help identify persons with gambling addiction and connect them to the appropriate resources—typically Certified Problem Gambling Counselors—to help overcome this disorder.

BEACON’S KANSAS EXPERIENCE

ValueOptions-Kansas, a Beacon Health Options company, administers the State of Kansas’ Problem Gambling and Other Addictions Fund (PGAF) program on behalf of the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS). The PGAF program is funded by 2% of the net lottery, bingo and casino revenue. The program offers subsidized, affordable behavioral health treatment—many times completely free—for those facing a gambling addiction. Services include individual, group and family therapy; inpatient care; case management; and formal interventions.

Working closely with the state, we helped develop the PGAF program beginning in 2011. We created the provider certification process; program criteria; intake, concurrent review and discharge processes and forms; and the data collection system. We collaborated with state agency leaders to develop updated credentialing criteria for the PGAF provider network, a new contract addenda for Problem Gambling and a current state-issued Kansas Problem Gambling counselor certificate. We leveraged our existing credentialing system to incorporate the newly developed criteria to credential both new and existing providers. Our staff also worked closely with the Kansas liaison to develop a PGAF provider guide. Finally, we coordinated the selection and management of an advisory committee to help develop policy relative to PGAF program funding and implementation.

During the first 17 months of the PGAF program:

  • One-third of PGAF program participants reported a decrease in gambling preoccupation
  • 46.2% of participants reported fewer gambling related consequences
  • 46.2% of participants also reported abstinence from gambling
  • Participation in self-help programs increased by 18%

ACCESSING CARE

The two major referral sources for PGAF treatment are the Kansas Problem Gambling Help Line and secondly, the gambler’s family, friends or treatment professionals. The help line is available 24/7 to gamblers or others concerned about a person who may be a problem gambler. Help Line staff answer questions and make referrals to one of our 40 certified problem gambling counselors.

We also identify potential problem gamblers through our providers themselves. As the administrator of Kansas’ Substance Use Disorder
(SUD) network, we instruct our SUD providers to screen members for problem gambling symptoms and make referrals to the PGAF network as warranted. In fact, 56% of our PGAF providers are cross-credentialed as SUD specialists.

Providers are assured quick response to service requests and prompt entry of authorizations into our proprietary database once a Kansas Behavioral Services Regulatory Board licensed clinician makes a determination on medical necessity criteria. This way, we ensure provider claims are paid quickly and accurately.

We have policies and procedures in place to manage the PGAF consistent with KDADS’ requirements that ensure individuals are eligible and meet medical necessity for problem gambling treatment. Providers are required to complete and submit assessment, concurrent review and discharge forms to authorize, continue and complete treatment. We are integrating these forms into our Web-enabled provider portal, so we can capture the PGAF data elements electronically.

Beacon has experience building a problem gambling treatment system from the ground up and in direct collaboration with our state partner. Based on our customized solutions, proven technologies and clinical expertise, we can effectively and efficiently address your concerns related to program gambling.