马萨诸塞州医学会批准计划,以帮助医疗服务提供者治疗慢性疼痛和/或物质使用障碍的患者

马萨诸塞州成瘾和疼痛治疗咨询服务为初级保健提供者提供实时咨询

波士顿– 2019年12月4日 –最近对马萨诸塞州初级保健提供者(PCP)进行的需求评估表明,尽管有许多有用的资源可提供教育和培训,但许多PCP在治疗患有慢性疼痛和/或药物滥用的患者时表示需要实时支持在实践中出现疾病(SUD)。

为了帮助满足这一需求,Beacon Health Options推出了马萨诸塞州成瘾和疼痛治疗咨询服务(MCSTAP)。 MCSTAP通过电话向PCP提供有关对慢性疼痛和/或药物滥用障碍患者的安全处方和护理管理的实时,对等咨询。最近,马萨诸塞州医学会(MMS)批准了MCSTAP,鼓励所有初级保健提供者使用这项重要服务。

MMS总裁,FACOG MBA硕士,医学博士Maryanne C. Bombaugh表示:“ MCSTAP正在彻底改变我们治疗和管理患有慢性疼痛和药物滥用疾病的患者的方式。 “马萨诸塞州的医疗服务提供者从未像现在这样可以立即获得具有广泛学术和临床专业知识的医师顾问团队来照料这些患者。我们对这种新资源及其为我们的社区带来的好处感到非常兴奋。”

MCSTAP由健康与公共服务执行办公室通过与Beacon Health Options公司的麻萨诸塞州行为健康合作组织的合同提供资金。这是一项免费服务,可帮助提供者照顾所有患有慢性疼痛和/或药物滥用疾病的患者,无论其保险范围如何。除了通过电话向提供者提供按需咨询外,MCSTAP还提供资源和转诊信息,以及基于证据的指南工具,用于管理慢性疼痛和/或SUD患者的护理。

“ MCSTAP就像拥有一个值得信赖的同事一样,他不仅了解您的来历和所面对的东西,而且拥有丰富的经验,并且知道如何就地在您最需要的时候为您提供帮助,” MCSTAP医学总监Christopher Shanahan,医学博士,医学硕士,FACP。

MCSTAP的主要受众是初级保健提供者;但是,MCSTAP可以接听正在治疗患有慢性疼痛和/或药物滥用问题的患者的其他提供商的电话。周一至周五,上午9点至下午5点,可以致电1-833-PAIN-SUD(1-833-724-6783)与医师联系。要了解更多信息,请访问www.mcstap.com。

关于信标健康选项

Beacon Health Options是一家领先的行为健康服务公司,为全美50个州的4000万个人提供服务。我们与雇主,健康计划和政府机构合作,通过创新的计划和解决方案提供强大的精神健康和成瘾服务,以改善人们的日常健康状况。信标公司是精神和情感健康,成瘾,康复和员工健康领域的全国领导者。我们与全国各地社区的提供者网络合作,帮助个人最大程度地发挥自己的生活。有关更多信息,请访问 www.beaconhealthoptions.com 并与我们联系 www.facebook.com/beaconhealthoptions, www.twitter.com/beaconhealthoptwww.linkedin.com/company/beacon-health-options.

Massachusetts Medical Society Endorses Program to Help Providers Care for Patients with Chronic Pain and/or Substance Use Disorders

The Massachusetts Consultation Service for Treatment of Addiction and Pain offers real-time consultation to primary care providers

Boston – December 4, 2019 – A recent needs assessment of Massachusetts primary care providers (PCPs) showed that while there are many useful resources available to provide education and training, many PCPs express the need for real-time support as they treat patients with chronic pain and/or substance use disorders (SUD) in their practices.

To help address this need, Beacon Health Options launched the Massachusetts Consultation Service for Treatment of Addiction and Pain (MCSTAP).  MCSTAP offers real-time, peer-to-peer consultation over the phone to PCPs on safe prescribing and care management for patients with chronic pain and/or substance use disorders.  Recently, the Massachusetts Medical Society (MMS) endorsed MCSTAP, encouraging all primary care providers to utilize this important service.

“MCSTAP is revolutionizing the way we treat and manage our patients with chronic pain and substance use disorders,” said MMS President Maryanne C. Bombaugh, MD, MSc, MBA, FACOG.  “Never before have providers in Massachusetts had immediate access to a team of physician consultants with extensive academic and clinical expertise in caring for these patients.  We are thrilled about this new resource and the benefit it is providing to our community.”

MCSTAP is funded by the Executive Office of Health and Human Services through its contract with the Massachusetts Behavioral Health Partnership, a Beacon Health Options company.  It is a no-cost service that assists providers in caring for all patients with chronic pain and/or substance use disorders, regardless of insurance coverage.  In addition to providing on-demand consultation to providers over the phone, MCSTAP also offers resource and referral information, as well as tools on evidence-based guidelines for managing the care of patients with chronic pain and/or SUD.

“MCSTAP is like having a trusted colleague who not only understands where you’re coming from and what you’re facing, but also has experience and knows how to help you right there on the spot – just when you need it most,” said MCSTAP Medical Director Christopher Shanahan, MD, MPH, FACP.

The main audience for MCSTAP is primary care providers; however, MCSTAP is available to take calls from other providers who are treating patients with issues of chronic pain and/or substance use disorders.  Physician consultants can be reached at 1-833-PAIN-SUD (1-833-724-6783), Monday to Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.  To learn more, visit www.mcstap.com.

About Beacon Health Options

Beacon Health Options is a leading behavioral health services company that serves 40 million individuals across all 50 states. We work with employers, health plans and government agencies to provide robust mental health and addiction services through innovative programs and solutions that improve the health and wellness of people every day. Beacon is a national leader in the fields of mental and emotional wellbeing, addiction, recovery, and employee health. Collaborating with a network of providers in communities around the country, we help individuals live their lives to the fullest potential. For more information, visit www.beaconhealthoptions.com and connect with us on www.facebook.com/beaconhealthoptions, www.twitter.com/beaconhealthopt and www.linkedin.com/company/beacon-health-options.