消除污名

2013年5月发起了“ Stamp Out Out Stigma(SOS)”运动,以表明我们致力于消除精神病的耻辱感,这种精神病使很多人无法寻求他们需要恢复的护理。

心理健康和成瘾继续被误解,很少讨论。然而,在给定的一年中,精神健康问题将对美国四分之一的人造成个人影响。并且,超过2200万人患有药物滥用症。

精神疾病和物质使用失调(例如高血压,高胆固醇或糖尿病)是可以治疗的健康问题。与心理健康和成瘾有关的污名常常使人们无法寻求所需的帮助,但对于那些这样做的人来说,康复是可能的。

当我们继续执行消除精神疾病的污名化的使命时,我们敦促您 我保证 消除污名并谈论它。您,我们值得信赖的提供者,是我们必须最大的倡导者,我们必须帮助消除与获得行为健康护理相关的污名,并帮助促进有关精神疾病的公开坦诚对话。

例如,在我们的“ Stamp Out Stigma”活动中,首席医疗官Gary Proctor博士公开分享了他与精神疾病有关的个人故事。在里面 录像片段他在《医生的观点》一书中描述了与一个患有精神疾病的家庭成员一起成长的经历,以及这种经历如何成为他成为医师和精神病医生的第一步。根据Proctor博士的说法,这种经历帮助他同情,成为一名更好的医生,并第一手了解精神疾病患者所面临的真正挑战以及如何更好地帮助他们的家人应对这些疾病。

您甚至可以与我们一起在您的办公室或机构中开发自己的Stamp Out Stigma广告系列。

变革的工具……SOS后期模型库存车
宾夕法尼亚州的服务提供者已经找到了一种创新的方式来推广这项运动……是在赛车方面。短距离赛车手和宾夕法尼亚州本地人Lon Emerick已将他的#3 RUSH晚期模型车专用于“消除可能”的消息,以消除耻辱感,以帮助提高对精神疾病的认识。当地的赞助商包括社区咨询中心,默瑟县联合之路,沙龙区域卫生系统,UPMC Horizon和初级卫生网络。这些团体不仅在精神卫生领域工作,而且还为那些遭受疾病困扰的人提供治疗。还可以帮助需要帮助的人找到适当的精神保健计划。

您如何参与其中?
这很简单。 我保证。说说它。您甚至可以利用下面提供的工具包中的资源和信息,为您的实践或机构开发自己的SOS促销。

当与患者交流寻求帮助的重要性以及与他人谈论精神疾病的重要性时,SOS工具包将为您提供支持。它包括您可以在办公室使用和/或分发给患者的信息。该工具包包含海报,传单和文章,所有这些都强化了我们需要共同努力消除与精神疾病相关的污名的一致信息。

有关Stamp Out Stigma的更多信息,请访问 SOS网站 或致电800.397.1630致电提供商服务。

Stamp Out Stigma

The Stamp Out Stigma (S.O.S.) campaign was introduced in May 2013 to show our commitment to removing the stigma of mental illness that keeps so many from seeking the care they need to recover.

Mental health and addiction continue to be misunderstood and rarely discussed. Yet in a given year, mental health issues will personally impact one in four people in the U.S.. And, more than 22 million people have a substance use disorder.

Mental illnesses and substance use disorders – just like high blood pressure, high cholesterol or diabetes – are treatable health issues. Stigma linked to mental health and addiction often keeps people from seeking the help they need – yet for those who do, recovery is possible.

As we continue in our mission to remove the stigma surrounding mental illness, we urge you to take the pledge to stamp out stigma and talk about it. You, our trusted providers, are the strongest advocates we have to help eradicate the stigma associated with accessing behavioral health care and helping to facilitate an open and honest dialogue about mental illness.

For example, as part of our Stamp Out Stigma campaign, Dr. Gary Proctor, Chief Medical Officer, publicly shared his personal story related to mental illness. In the video clip, “A Doctor’s Perspective” he describes growing up with a family member who struggled with mental illness and how this experience became his first step in his journey to becoming a physician and psychiatrist. According to Dr. Proctor, this experience helped him empathize, be a better doctor and understand first-hand the real challenges people with mental illness go through and how to better help their families cope with these illnesses.

You can even join us in developing your own Stamp Out Stigma campaign within your office or facility.

A Vehicle for Change…the S.O.S. Late Model Stock Car
Providers in Pennsylvania have found an innovative way to promote the campaign…on the side of a racecar. Short track racer and Pennsylvania native Lon Emerick has dedicated his #3 RUSH Late Model car to Stamp Out Stigma with a “Recovery is Possible” message to help increase awareness of mental illness. Local sponsors include Community Counseling Center, United Way of Mercer County, Sharon Regional Health System, UPMC Horizon and The Primary Health Network. These groups work in the mental health field not only to treat those who suffer from the disease; but also to help those who need assistance find the proper mental health care program.

How Can You Get Involved?
It’s simple. Take the pledge. Talk about it. You can even develop your own S.O.S. promotion for your practice or facility with the resources and information found in our provider toolkit.

The S.O.S. toolkit supports you when communicating with your patients about the importance of seeking help and talking with others about mental illness. It includes information you can use in your office and/or distribute to your patients. Posters, flyers and articles comprise this toolkit, which all reinforce the consistent message that we need to work together to remove the stigma associated with mental illness.

For more information about Stamp Out Stigma, visit the S.O.S. website or call Provider Services at 800.397.1630.